Freedom Fighters

Abul Kalam Ghulam Muhiyuddin Ahmed bin Khairuddin Al-Hussaini Azad was an Indian independence activist, Islamic theologian, writer and a senior leader of the Indian National Congress. Following India’s independence, he became the First Minister of Education in the Indian government.

Shaukat Ali was an Indian Muslim member of the Khilafat Movement. He was the elder brother of the renowned political leader Mohammad Ali Jouhar.

Maulana Mazharul Haque was an educator, lawyer, independence activist of the Indian National Movement. Throughout his career, Mazharul Haque was a proponent of Hindu-Muslim unity

Syed Mohammad Sharfuddin Quadri was an Indian independence activist, Gandhian and a physician of the Unani system of medicine. He accompanied Gandhiji in the Salt March of 1930 and was a prison mate of the Indian leader when they were incarcerated by the British regime at Cuttack jail

Mohammed Abdur Rahiman Sahib was an Indian freedom fighter, Muslim leader, scholar, and politician from Kerala. He served as president of Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee in 1939

Abdul Ghaffār Khān BR, also known as Bacha Khan or Badshah Khan, and honourably addressed as Fakhr-e-Afghan, was a Pashtun independence activist, and founder of the Khudai Khidmatgar resistance movement against British colonial rule in India.

Ashfaqulla Khan was an Indian independence activist in the Indian independence movement against British rule and co-founder of the Hindustan Republican Association.

Maghfoor Ahmad Ajazi was a political activist from Bihar, prominent in the Indian independence movement.

Saifuddin Kitchlew was an Indian independence activist, barrister, politician and later a leader of the peace movement. A member of Indian National Congress, he first became Punjab Provincial Congress Committee head and later the General Secretary of the All India Congress Committee in 1924

Fazl-e-Haq Khairabadi was a Hanafi jurist, rationalist scholar, Maturidi theologian, philosopher and poet. He was an activist of the Indian independence movement and campaigned against British occupation.

Muhammad Ali Jauhar was an Indian Muslim activist, founding member of the All-India Muslim League, a preeminent member of Indian National Congress, journalist and a poet, a leading figure of the Khilafat Movement and one of the founders of Jamia Millia Islamia. Jauhar was a member of the Aligarh Movement.

Syed Fazl-ul-Hasan, known by his pen-name Hasrat Mohani, was an Indian activist, freedom fighter in the Indian independence movement and a noted poet of the Urdu language. He coined the notable slogan Inquilab Zindabad in 1921.

Zakir Husain Khan was an Indian educationist and politician who served as the third president of India from 13 May 1967 until his death on 3 May 1969

General Bakht Khan was the commander-in-chief of the Indian rebel forces in the city of Delhi during the Indian Rebellion of 1857 against the East India Company.

Muzaffar Ahmad was an Indian-Bengali politician, journalist and a co-founder of Communist Party of India